File Versions and Aging

The versioning app expires old file versions automatically to ensure that users don’t exceed their storage quotas. This is the default pattern used to delete old versions:

  • For the first second we keep one version

  • For the first 10 seconds ownCloud keeps one version every 2 seconds

  • For the first minute ownCloud keeps one version every 10 seconds

  • For the first hour ownCloud keeps one version every minute

  • For the first 24 hours ownCloud keeps one version every hour

  • For the first 30 days ownCloud keeps one version every day

  • After the first 30 days ownCloud keeps one version every week

The versions are adjusted along this pattern every time a new version is created.

The Versions app never uses more that 50% of the user’s storage quota. If the stored versions exceed this limit, allAccess deletes the oldest file versions until it meets the disk space limit again.